Update

My dissertation is coming along…slowly.  I set a new deadline for myself.  We’ll see how this one works out.  The good news is that I finished the coding, so finishing the rest does not seem nearly as overwhelming as it did last week at this time.  The bad news is that I do not think it is going to be done by the end of next week, which means that pursuing my fiction-writing project will probably need to be postponed until July.  Once I have turned in the first draft to my advisor, I am hoping that I will feel the weight lifted from my shoulders and won’t feel guilty over spending my time writing fiction.  However, June is going to be a busy month for me, so I do not think it is a good month to try the write-a-novel-in-a-month thing.  July or August may be better.  On the other hand, turning in the first draft is only a first step: there will probably be major revisions and things I need to add.  One step at a time though.

Despite putting my new project on hold while I finish up the dissertation, writing is still something I will be working on.  Revising the diss, finishing the last chapter of the diss, writing some more entries here on my blog, repeating myself in my journal (I tend to feel like I write the same type of things over and over)…these are all exercises in the craft of writing.  So, I am not terribly worried about falling away from my dreams.  I’ll still be working on them in some form.

As far as this blog is concerned, I have had some things on my mind lately, so, while they may not all be directly related to writing, I have decided not to worry so much about the relevance of my posts.  The things I think and feel and believe all inform who I am as a person and that informs my writing, so in that regard they’re relevant.  And you know, one day, when I am a famous author (ha!) people will want to know these things about me.  Until then, at least they’ll serve to amuse me.

Categories: Miscellaneous | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Update

  1. just keep going, a word at a tine will turn into a sentence , then a page and at some point a book 🙂

  2. Thanks for the encouragement! That is very sound advice. I may have to post that up by my desk.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

