Vent regarding gaming forums

I just have one question:

What is it about gaming forums that, no matter how well thought-out or constructed your comment is, people will find the one thing you didn’t express quite right or somehow misconstrue your entire post, so that you come out looking like the selfish prick who is trying to godmode or something?  Is it just gaming forums?  Or is it just roleplaying gaming forums?  Or maybe its just the Internet?

*heavy sigh*

Seriously, though.  Sometimes I wonder why I even bother.

Whew!  I had to get that out somewhere.  Thanks.  Obviously, I didn’t want to post that on the gaming forum for fear someone would misunderstand and it would turn into an argument.

 

Edit:

This is funny, but after I posted this, the following is the writing quote WordPress gave me:

“Words, once they are printed, have a life of their own.” ~ Carol Burnett

 

So, maybe it is just that I have traitorous words that plot against me.  Maybe that’s my problem.  Hmm…that’s an interesting concept.  I think I may have to explore it further.

Categories: Miscellaneous | Tags: , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Vent regarding gaming forums

  1. I hate the elitism on some game forums.

  2. While I don’t have much experience with gaming forums, I’ve noticed a similar attitude on the deviantART writing forums. The people there are so elitist, so bashing and cruel, I’m forever thankful I didn’t find that forum until I was well into writing. Had I started there, I probably would have quit. They are so negative and they gang up on random people to flame them and twist their words into mockeries of what had been originally intended. It’s saddening. I’ve heard about some really bad experiences with RP boards. They’re very mean on those as well and so often those who do the organizing don’t actually organize much of anything and just become pint-sized gods on the internet.

    I totally understand what you mean. I refuse to post my thoughts about the dA lit community anywhere near dA for fear of them never. Leaving. Me. Alone. Especially since I don’t have much of a writing presence on that site anymore. I’d just be too good of a target if I complained.

    Creepy how wordpress gave you that quote. Words do have a life of their own, especially on the internet, since there aren’t really any faces to smile or frown, and words can be interpreted so differently by different people.

    • I swear, some people think the anonymity of the internet gives them license to say what whatever mean things pop into their heads. And totally, god forbid I was newbie. I’d have been totally turned away. In fact, that /did/ happen on another non-game forum to me. It was an important group to me too, but I was new to the boards and there was one person was just really nasty to me. I tried to get over it, but in the end, I just haven’t logged on in months. It could have been incredibly useful to me, but those couple of interactions were upsetting enough to make me leave. My husband tries to remind me that you never know what kind of pain those people are living with – that it is better to get that aggressiveness out online than in real life. But it is hard to remember that when you become the target of their negativity.

      Thank you, too, for putting into words what I couldn’t quite express: “They are so negative…and twist their words into mockeries of what had been originally intended.”

      And you’re right, that quote /was/ kind of creepy considering the subject of my post. That was awesome. I totally think there is a story in there somewhere.

      I would like to think that the majority of misunderstandings online happen because of the lack of body language. It is a skill we all need to learn – both how to express ourselves properly through our words and learning how to interpret the etiquette of the internet. Some people are not terribly proficient (or are incredibly proficient) and just say some horrible things.

      • Pretty much. And what makes NO sense is that dA is mostly a website for 15-20 year olds, but the lit community is dominated by 40-something year olds bashing 15 year olds who post in the forum.
        That sucks. One person can truly ruin the experience of a website, and what really is unfortunate is that most of the time, I don’t think they mean to. Your husband sounds really tolerant. I don’t think I could extend that much patience and understanding to someone who was being a jerk to me online.
        No problem. I was suddenly struck with a poetic mood. 😉
        It is amazing how much communication happens non-verbally, and you don’t really miss it until someone misinterprets something you say or you misinterpret what they say and suddenly everything just goes to hell because someone forgot to write a smiley face.

  3. That’s horrible. One should never quash kids’ creativity. That’s why I can’t sing, you know. Okay, I’m only being half serious. But as a kid (much younger than 15) I liked to sing, but sounded horrible! People would tell me to stop. So I did. And developed a complex about it. Now I only sing in front of my family (who cringe, but let me sing). My voice still sucks, though. (Also, I got a C in music over it, which my mom reminded me of the other day…and still kind of rubs me the wrong way. I mean, how can a kid get a C in a music class where all they do is sing in a group??? But I digress.) Lol. Anyway.

    Yeah, he can talk a good game, but he still dishes it pretty good when people are stupid to him on the Internet…and sometimes when they’re just stupid in general. He’s actually very good at it – funny and sarcastic and he doesn’t use that many words to do it (my responses are always paragraphs long). It must be infuriating to be on the receiving end of his posts, but they usually deserve it. I’m not always patient either. I finally broke down and responded to this one person on the forum to which I was referring. I don’t know if was the right thing to do, but the feeling of vindication was nice. I know it is stupid, but I am always afraid of being too mean, and then I am not mean enough. I told my husband I flamed someone recently and he laughed at me. 😐 Lol.

    One more story about my husband. I was in Chile a few years ago for several months and my husband came to visit me. I speak Spanish, but he doesn’t. He was really surprised to find how much he could understand, even though he didn’t know a single word that was coming out of their mouths. But yeah, the emoticons are all we have online. That and “lol,” which I sometimes have a tendency to overuse (see above). I justify my overuse with the fact that it is the only one I use, and I spell out all of my words (no u’s and r’s…unless I’m texting, but even then I usually spell everything out). I don’t know if it is a very good justification, but it makes me feel better about my ‘lol’ use.

    Anyway, I’m glad you’re back. I enjoy these back and forths. I’m sorry about the stuff you’re going through, though. But I hope you’re having an awesome time at Gen Con.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

