Annoyed at television networks…and viewers

First of all, I am in a dissertation revision haze, so I hope this blog post is coherent.

I just found out that 666 Park Avenue is being cancelled and I am really bummed about it…and annoyed that stupid shows like Go On, Revolution and Beauty & the Beast get renewed, but shows that actually have a engaging storyline and interesting characters are getting axed.

Now, I realize that 666 Park Avenue is no Firefly…*meaningful look about awesome shows getting killed before they’ve had time to blossom*…but I thought it was one of the best new dramas of the season.  Yeah, there were a few issues about character motivations and such, but nothing as glaring as what can be found in Revolution.  I blame it on whatever idiot named the show “666,” which immediately alienates a huge audience who will not tune in on principle because of the name.  Although, I have noticed that television shows about the devil tend not to do well…Think Tru Calling and Joan of Arcadia – as soon as a devil character was introduced the shows got cancelled.

But seriously, folks. I am not a harsh critique.  Really, I’m not.  So, when I find it painful to sit through a show like Revolution or Beauty and the Beast, I think, “Well, surely these will get cancelled.”  Nope – people LOVE them!  Whitney?  Utterly painful, but it’s getting a third season from what I hear.  And I give shows a chance.  I do!  I gave Animal Hospital a chance even though it looked really stupid and actually thought it was not half-bad.  Cancelled.  I like Jimmy Fallon, but I watched one episode of Guys with Kids and thought…well, honestly I didn’t think much at all about it.  I didn’t like it enough to watch a second episode, but I didn’t find it painful like Go On.  It got a request for more episodes.  Political Animals – brilliant.  Cancelled.  Although, to be fair, I think that show was always meant to be just one season.  The Neighbors?!  I could barely get my 10-year old son to sit through an entire episode, he thought it was so stupid.  Full season.  Arrow?  Well, actually, Arrow is the only one where I seem to agree.  I think it got a full season.

I am starting to feel like there is something wrong with me.  Why is it that shows that I feel have potential or value seem to lack viewship, whereas shows I am convinced are the stupidest sh*t seem to have millions of people who love them?  Is it me?  Or it is them?  Because I know everyone has different tastes, but…um,…I tend to think people are just stupid and watch television with a completely uncritical eye, happy to swallow anything that gets shoveled their way.  Plot not simple enough or laid out from the beginning?  Any thinking involved?  Does it make you question your moral values?  Forget it.  (How in the world did a show like Lost survive for so long with its convoluted storyline?)  People would rather watch ANOTHER procedural, as long as there are some pretty faces involved.  I see no other logical explanation, but with this trend I may have to *gulp* give up television altogether.

I’d be happy to hear your thoughts.  Perhaps someone out there has an answer for me.

Thanks for listening.  Back to revisions now…*sigh*

/rant

Categories: Miscellaneous, Television | Tags: , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Annoyed at television networks…and viewers

  1. I agree with your sentiment. I’ve fallen in love with more than a few shows just to have them canceled mid-season or not renewed for a second season. Currently, I’m upset about The Mob Doctor, which is doomed for almost certain cancellation.

    I also agree with most of the shows you’re upset about, but I have to disagree with your opinion about Revolution. I love that show. The main female character, Charlie, is annoying as hell, but other than that I think it’s a great show.

    • I like the Mob Doctor, too. Granted, it isn’t a show that I get excited about, but I thought it was a well conceived and executed show. And I love me some Micheal Rapaport. Maybe crooked doctors are as well-received as devil-characters (666 has a crooked doctor, too). I suppose people would just rather see them sleep with one another.

      As far Revolution is concerned, difference-of-opinion noted. I will say that I /have/ watched more than one episode of that show and I’ve come away with two thoughts I didn’t have after the first episode. One, I can see how it can grow on a person. There are some weak actors (why do they keep hiring Elizabeth Mitchell [the mom]? And, C. Thomas Howell?!! Need I say more? At least he just gets hired to die). But, there is also Giancarlo Esposito, who is frickin’ awesome. Originally, I felt like they did the setting a real disservice, although, I admit, it seems to be getting better. In that vein, secondly, I feel like the show has a lot of potential. I think I was really disappointed, because Revolution was the show I was looking forward to the most this season, and it just really feel flat for me. There were so many things that I felt like they didn’t think through. And the girl Charlie – my husband said they were trying to capitalize on The Hunger Games, and from that moment forward I couldn’t look at her without seeing that. I’ve worked through that, but she IS still annoying. I’ve come to like her brother, though. However, the most annoying character for me is the uncle, because he is the most flat, expressionless actor…During that one episode, I thought, are he and C. Thomas Howell brothers? And it still really bothers me that he fights with a sword, but after he’s killed twelve people with it, there’s not a drop of blood to be found anywhere.

      Anyway, thanks for the like and sharing your thoughts!

      • I hate Elizabeth Mitchell! Her stupid face, her stupid voice. Ugh! I do like Billy Burke though. I think the emotionless thing works for him. Sort of.

        Did you happen to catch the most recent episode? I hated it. Worst one to date. Thank goodness I’m already roped in because if that had aired earlier I might’ve had to hang it up.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

